gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
19852 Posts in 1275 Topics by 5182 Members - Latest Member: charbuild March 29, 2024, 03:17:06 AM
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
Breaktru Forum  |  eCigarette Forum  |  Modding  |  Topic: Has noone tried PID controlling for temp control yet?
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Has noone tried PID controlling for temp control yet?  (Read 7295 times)

Offline norcalreballer

Has noone tried PID controlling for temp control yet?
« on: January 26, 2015, 11:55:31 PM »
I have some experience designing an arduino PID Rework station controller in the past.  I'm still a noob, but I think I could get it to work in a mod.  The only issue is running the thermocouple up through the center post and to a coil, but I honestly think it'll work.  I used to have some 36g Omega TC's that would fit right through with a modified 510 connector and atty.

Any thoughts?  People seem to like temperature control.  I dont' think it could get any better than that.  Any wire will work etc.

Offline CraigHB

• PV Master
Re: Has noone tried PID controlling for temp control yet?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 02:37:18 PM »
If you can do some micro-electronics, you may be able to add a small unit to a customized atomizer to provide a wireless link to the sensor.  Otherwise, you need an extra contact in the connector for a sensor.  That would eliminate the ability to use a 510 connector.  Maybe you could add a simple jumper plug that you stick in the atomizer after screwed in to a standard connector.  I don't know, just ideas off the top of my head.  It would be a lot better than being limited to a particular type of low resistance wire.

Offline norcalreballer

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2015, 12:34:41 AM »
 It's only a matter of a max1855 and a k type thermocouple.  Omega has 36g thermocouples that will fit right through a Centerpost that's modified.