gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfx
19694 Posts in 1260 Topics by 5033 Members - Latest Member: jackiehinchey November 18, 2017, 01:17:07 AM
*
gfx* Home | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
Breaktru Forum  |  eCigarette Forum  |  Modding  |  Topic: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box  (Read 13066 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« on: July 17, 2015, 02:21:24 PM »
Not finished & not super exciting, but here it is anyway.


Between a Hana and one on my DNA40 builds.



Hammond 1590A box, cut out the bottoms of the pillars and one side of the ridge in the lid.
Nano-Tech 950 mAh battery.
XT30 battery connectors.
Balance socket on about 1.5" of wire.
Mounted with M1.6 10 mm screws, threads tapped into case, 5.1 mm spacers made for some micro-bore tube I had kicking about.
Buttons made form cut down 5 mm shelf pins.
VariTube 510 with stretched spring & -ve ring made form old 3/4" copper pipe split and flattened.
Battery wires 18 AWG silicon.
Output wires 14 AWG silicon.
Balance wires 30 AWG silicon, 28 AWG would be better.
A bit of pencil eraser at the top to keep the battery pushed down.



Online Breaktru

  • Administrator
  • PV Master
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2008
  • Location: NY
  • Posts: 3299
  • Karma: +784/-4
  • Gender: Male
  • PLEASE participate in this forum
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 02:59:13 PM »
Well done and very well laid out. I like the shelve pin idea.
The internals fit like a glove. Bravo

Offline vaporhead

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +8/-0
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 03:07:28 PM »
Great job man. tight fit and well thought out. About how long are those  5.1 mm spacers?

Offline steamEngine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 03:18:32 PM »
Congrats on your mod  :beer-toast:
I really like the way it came out. Question, what is a "-ve ring". Is is some sort of washer for the ground wire on the 510?

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 04:50:32 PM »
Great job man. tight fit and well thought out. About how long are those  5.1 mm spacers?
5.1 mm is the length, the USB is 6.7 + 1.6 for the case wall that way I only use the minimum width (10.3 mm) in the case. The tube was got from a heating spare shop years ago and is 3.1 mm OD.

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 04:52:44 PM »
Congrats on your mod  :beer-toast:
I really like the way it came out. Question, what is a "-ve ring". Is is some sort of washer for the ground wire on the 510?
Yes it just goes under the 510 nut, but making it yourself you can have the solder tab as long as you like, it wedges in the corner behind the board in this/

Offline vaporhead

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +8/-0
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2015, 05:25:12 PM »
Thanks buddy. I'm an idiot  Doh: 5.1 mm. gotcha

Offline Mandro

  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • Location: Tamworth
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2015, 06:36:37 PM »
Nice work VapingBad  :applaude:
It will be nice to see the finished mod.
I've been soldering my neg wire directly to the retaining nut. For me, it makes it easier to remove and replace if ever needed.

Offline Rico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Sep 2014
  • Location: Paris
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2015, 05:54:29 PM »
Hey VapingBad,

That's a wonderfull build you made with such a small case!
What a tight fit...

How is this chip working?

PS:
I have all the parts to build mine, but it will be in a bigger 1590g enclosure ;)

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2015, 08:45:12 PM »
Hey VapingBad,

That's a wonderfull build you made with such a small case!
What a tight fit...

How is this chip working?

PS:
I have all the parts to build mine, but it will be in a bigger 1590g enclosure ;)
Thanks, I am really impressed with it, I have got it at 150 W preheat for vaping a dual coil genny at 36 W and bam even better than the 40.  The PC software is really useful I have just had to strip and deep clean an Origenny2 clone because I could see the resistance drifting while it was just sitting on the desk and sure enough the thread on brass centre pin where the wire connects and you can see them were filthy.  It's loads of little things as well like being able to put the USB current on the screen while charging so you can make sure you are getting the full amp, my laptop USB3 was only giving 0.5 A and as that is to 3 decimal places you can see which USB cable has the least loss.

I have shortened the battery wiring and put a cut carto condom behind the screen as it was just some random foam that I shoved in before.

Offline Rico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Sep 2014
  • Location: Paris
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2015, 06:10:36 PM »
Thanks for the info ;)

150W pre-heat is that i'm looking for also, 200W is a bit of overkill :p

I suppose you run nickel coils don't you ?
What kind of gauge wire are using for your builds (I plan to buy some quite soon) ?

Thanks

PS:

My 1590G enclosure is already drilled with all needed holes and window for OLED screen, now I need to sand it and fit everything inside.


Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2015, 08:35:24 PM »
Not trying to dodge your question @Rico, but there is loads of stuff out there about temp limiting builds and I am atypical in that I am a highish power genesis vaper.  With the 40 I had settled for 6-7 wraps of 2 strand twisted 0.16 mm (34 AWG) on dual 3 mm ss rope wicks with 2 layers of #500 mesh @0.1-0.11 ohm Origen Genesis V2 clones, just done a similar build with 0.3 mm Ni @ 0.6 ohm, but I want to try StealthVapes ribbon Ni as always used ribbon pre DNA40.

Offline Rico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Sep 2014
  • Location: Paris
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2015, 06:29:31 PM »
Hey VapingBad,

Thank you very much for your detailed answer.
I didn't know Ni ribbon cable was out, may have a look on that ;)

Cheers,


Offline bamanerd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2014
  • Location: Birmingham, AL
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2015, 11:50:34 AM »
I have to disagree, VB... this is super exciting!! lol

Love it man! This is a really nice build. Super clean and super inventive!

Keep up the good work  :thumbsup:

Offline Rico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Sep 2014
  • Location: Paris
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2015, 02:54:46 PM »
Hey all,

I just finished my DNA 200 box mod :p
It fits tightly in a 1590G enclosure.
The buttons I used are from a Vamo (bought in a UK website were I also bought the DNA 200 chip).
As I saw a long time ago the beautifull mods that Mandro created with polished standard Hammond boxes, I tried to do the same for mine.
The result is much less gorgeous than that Mandro did, but its ok.
Had no time to test temp control yet, but with my Khantal/Nichrome builds it works like a charm.
Just received 0.25 mm Nickel wire, will try some twisted coils to see how it vapes with TC ;)

Images below:





Cheers,

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2015, 03:03:04 PM »
That looks really good Rico  :applaude:

Online Breaktru

  • Administrator
  • PV Master
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2008
  • Location: NY
  • Posts: 3299
  • Karma: +784/-4
  • Gender: Male
  • PLEASE participate in this forum
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2015, 04:21:56 PM »
Nice work Rico. Looking good  :thumbsup:

Offline Mandro

  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • Location: Tamworth
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2015, 06:04:54 AM »
Hey all,

I just finished my DNA 200 box mod :p
It fits tightly in a 1590G enclosure.
The buttons I used are from a Vamo (bought in a UK website were I also bought the DNA 200 chip).
As I saw a long time ago the beautifull mods that Mandro created with polished standard Hammond boxes, I tried to do the same for mine.
The result is much less gorgeous than that Mandro did, but its ok.
Had no time to test temp control yet, but with my Khantal/Nichrome builds it works like a charm.
Just received 0.25 mm Nickel wire, will try some twisted coils to see how it vapes with TC ;)

Images below:





Cheers,

Great work Rico and thanks for the comments  :rockin smiley:

Offline Rico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Sep 2014
  • Location: Paris
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2015, 11:19:44 AM »
Thank you all for your nice comments.

You're welcome Mandro ;)
I loved the work you made with these simple Hammond boxes.
As you can see mine is not perfect: no as polished as you and you can see some scratches.
Will do better next time but damn, it takes a long time of sanding to go to this result :S

Just tested temp control with twisted 0.25mm Nickel on my Origen V2, and the taste is completely different from Khantal.
Also the pre-heat mode of the DNA 200 is stunning, vapor production is here in an instant!

I strongly recommend to try this little beast :D

Offline Podunk Steam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • Location: United States
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +8/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #19 on: July 27, 2015, 06:49:29 PM »
Very nice guys!  :popcorn:
Windohs Vistdah crapped out on me so I'm playing catch up with this 200 not to mention the normal everyday rat race.

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2015, 01:18:46 AM »
Time to pull apart and brush finish


Offline vapertina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Gender: Female
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2015, 11:30:14 AM »
some much work in pulling it apart. Looks great vaping bad. It paid off

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2015, 12:07:28 PM »
some much work in pulling it apart. Looks great vaping bad. It paid off
Thanks, but it wasn't that bad everything unscrews, no solder or sticky stuff required.

Offline Visus

  • PV Master
  • *******
  • Joined: Oct 2013
  • Location: Nexxus
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +60/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2015, 04:34:38 PM »
Woot that does look good,  really nice batts for smallish 3s modding

 :thumbsup:

I'm a wuss and do not wanna mess wit nickle and cotton :(.  I have allergens to many awesome things and as I get older they get more aggressive.  I even look at fake jewelry and break out in hives..  SS mesh and silica so I do not need temp reg but love the innovation, silica and temp reg is the bees knees tho,  but----..

The proper build  3s 200 watts is very tempting but cost in today's priced high power hobby mods,  cannot see it being smart purchase.. :piggybank:

Meh glad they are working great tho.. 

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2015, 05:46:36 PM »
Woot that does look good,  really nice batts for smallish 3s modding

 :thumbsup:

I'm a wuss and do not wanna mess wit nickle and cotton :(.  I have allergens to many awesome things and as I get older they get more aggressive.  I even look at fake jewelry and break out in hives..  SS mesh and silica so I do not need temp reg but love the innovation, silica and temp reg is the bees knees tho,  but----..

The proper build  3s 200 watts is very tempting but cost in today's priced high power hobby mods,  cannot see it being smart purchase.. :piggybank:

Meh glad they are working great tho..

Thanks.

I have a nickel allergy but been vaping the stuff since October with no probs YMMV.

I mainly run them with mesh, well ss rope with a mesh cap.  The 200 alows me to use Ni200 ribbon on a dual coil genny, the r is too low for dual on a DNA 40.



Origen genesis V2 (clone) dual 3 mm ss rope wicks, 2 layers #500 mesh, 5 wraps of 0.5 x 0.1 mm Ribbon Ni200 about 0.065 ohm, vaping at 36 W and the best flavour I have ever had.

Offline dc99

  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: asheboro nc
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2015, 06:15:06 PM »
Didn't I read that they have a software upgrade (or down grade) depending on how you look at it that lets this board run on two batteries at 133w

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #26 on: August 03, 2015, 06:20:19 PM »
Didn't I read that they have a software upgrade (or down grade) depending on how you look at it that lets this board run on two batteries at 133w
It is in the latest 2 pre-release versions and Evolv are planning an accessory board to provide reverse battery protection for this and 3 18650s as the board is designed to use a battery that cannot be connected in reverse.

Info: http://evolvapor.forumchitchat.com/post/2s-18650-discussion-7521656
You can get the early sw & fw here http://evolvapor.forumchitchat.com/post/early-firmware-7508618?trail=15

Offline Visus

  • PV Master
  • *******
  • Joined: Oct 2013
  • Location: Nexxus
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +60/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2015, 06:30:50 PM »
Break needs add like button lol

That is beautiful build on the genny..  I bet that build is crazy cloudy whoa..  :thumbsup:

Yeah, thanks for heads up on nickle,  its mainly the cotton..  I recently tried cotton again, super organic etc,  no go sinuses went crazy, head congestion blah..  I never want a running nose again for 3 solid days non stop, after three boxes or more a day in lotion tissue I started using body towels it was so bad..  The docs have this nasal spray,  u spray it and instant stop  but side affect of metallic taste for the next month,  its crazy how long it stays in the system..

For uber small backup and feet wet dip in TC I am prolly purchasing the 30 buck i40 busardo just gave it thumbs up..  Its underpowered @36watts max but like he said its a great entry level tc mod and it does hit the temps some better than others but ya..  Then I may not be able to resist the 200 watt beast and the controllable data's is uber nice app to vaping..

After posting earlier I went DNA200 reading on ECF there's already three people with issues and they say there's more people with issues, seasoned builders who just are not posting about it,  Seems they are blowing their fuse.. Boo :(  hopefully its not tantamount.

Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #28 on: August 03, 2015, 06:46:44 PM »
Almost all the issues are from the way the board is fitted, the more serious ones are solder bridges to vias and other parts of the circuit and fuses blowing from shorting to the case, less serious are the screen ribbon cable getting caught and crushed by the fire switch.  There are a few others that have been failing, but the numbers are lower and Evolv are swapping boards for all these probs even the ones other companies would call user error.   They will sort it.

Offline waverunr2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2014
  • Location: Fort Mill SC
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #29 on: August 06, 2015, 02:43:19 AM »
Hi All, I love the mod! Great job!!!   :applaude:  Just curious how you figured out the 0.95 battery?  Obviously size is a huge factor.  But is there larger capacity  batteries that are the same size. I just saw the VapeCige VTBox200 1800mAh TC VW Variable Wattage APV Mod on FT.Claiming a 1800mah battery.    https://www.fasttech.com/products/3017300  Is this possible, or just another china over rated, under powered mod?




Offline VapingBad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Oct 2014
  • Location: UK
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #30 on: August 06, 2015, 10:21:23 AM »
Hi All, I love the mod! Great job!!!   :applaude:  Just curious how you figured out the 0.95 battery?  Obviously size is a huge factor.  But is there larger capacity  batteries that are the same size. I just saw the VapeCige VTBox200 1800mAh TC VW Variable Wattage APV Mod on FT.Claiming a 1800mah battery.    https://www.fasttech.com/products/3017300  Is this possible, or just another china over rated, under powered mod?
Thanks.

It was the largest capacity the HobbyKing had in stock in the UK warehouse that could fit in the 1590A at the time, there are some 1000 mAh ones that would fit, but not much larger than that in that box with the standard lid and using XT30 battery connector & JST balance connector.

Offline andrear87

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2014
  • Location: ITaly
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #31 on: September 26, 2015, 08:59:05 AM »
good job , big cloud

Offline Podunk Steam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • Location: United States
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +8/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #32 on: September 26, 2015, 10:39:38 AM »
Nice!
I guess there's different ways to get there from here. I'm taking the CNCed 1590A to the 18650 byway which should drop me right onto the 133W.  :laughing:
I still have a ways to go with plenty of parts to make, just taking little steps.

Early test fit

Door side

Front side

One side of the battery holder epoxied to help hold the filament together  when it gets drilled. The other side will have a sheet of aluminum epoxied on to work as a heat sync on the back of the transducers held in place with some Artic Silver. Kinda hunting with a Howitzer but it servers a few purposes when completed and I doubt I'll regret the efforts.

 
« Last Edit: September 26, 2015, 10:55:06 AM by Podunk Steam »

Offline Vick2016

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Oct 2016
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
« Reply #33 on: October 24, 2016, 03:00:54 AM »


i used Snowwolf 218 Vape Box Mod

feel good

Breaktru Forum  |  eCigarette Forum  |  Modding  |  Topic: DNA200 in a Hammond 1590A box
 

gfxgfx
gfx gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!